School Vision

‘An inclusive Whanau environment, where our community is valued and committed to the personal excellence of all students and staff’

We can’t overplay the word Whanau in the school vision. Mountainview High school is one big family and our students readily develop a sense of belonging. Being a ‘Mountie’ is one of the best compliments our students and staff offer each other. Being part of the family, showing pride in the school and living our school values of Respect, Responsible and Ready to Learn is common place here at Mountainview.

Mountainview High School is an
innovative inclusive high school that is
fiercely proud of the work it does.

Principals Welcome

I am proud to welcome you to the Mountainview website and trust that you will find the information that you need. After reading I am sure you will agree with me that everything about Mountainview High School is exciting. We are a progressive high school that pursues personal excellence in all that we do. Whether it is the physical campus or the learning in and beyond our classrooms, you do not have to look hard to find excellence.

Being a relatively new school in our current form has allowed us to embrace innovation and not be hamstrung by tradition. This has created an approach to education that is highly responsive to the needs of our students. We provide a technology rich broad curriculum that ensures our students grow and develop into well rounded and competent individuals. We are proud of the ‘Mounties’ that thrive beyond school.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the Crown Entity charged with the responsibility of overseeing the operations of Mountainview High School. They act as the employer and have responsibility for setting the strategic direction of the school. This can be found by consulting the policies on the policies page and by reading the school Charter

The Board represents all stakeholders with Trustees (with the exception of the Student Trustee) being elected every three years. Board members are always happy for you to make contact and to share concerns or ideas.

Current Board members are:
Mr Peter Coulter,
Board Chair
Mrs Fiona Cameron,
Parent Representative
Mr Ross Christie,
Parent Representative
Mr Andrew Dixon,
Parent Representative
Mrs Anne Ellis Parent,
Representative
Mr Mark Jones,
Principal
Miss Nikki MacLaren,
Student Representative
Mr Miles Winter,
Staff Representative

Staff Directory


Barge Sarah  Geography  barges@mountainview.school.nz
Barge Trevor HOD Geography barget@mountainview.school.nz
Blackie Al HOD Visual Art blackiea@mountainview.school.nz
Buckham Michelle Social Science buckhamm@mountainview.school.nz
Buckley Dave Ag/Hort buckleyd@mountainview.school.nz
Campbell Sheree Spanish campbells@mountainview.school.nz
Diamond Kenny HOD Languages diamondk@mountainview.school.nz
Duncan Brent HOD Arts duncanb@mountainview.school.nz
Gilchrist Michael Guidance Counsellor gilchristm@mountainview.school.nz
Harris Mary Learning Support harrism@mountainview.school.nz
Haua Ani Maori hauaa@mountainview.school.nz
Jacob Tess HOD Food Tech jacobt@mountainview.school.nz
Johnson Peter HOD Maths johnsonp@mountainview.school.nz
Jones Mark Principal jonesm@mountainview.school.nz

King Tamzin Maths kingt@mountainview.school.nz
Kirkwood Lois Careers kirkwoodl@mountainview.school.nz
Konings Mary-Jane Science koningsm@mountainview.school.nz
Kuperus Murray Business studies kuperusm@mountainview.school.nz
Lafferty Margaret Maths laffertym@mountainview.school.nz
McGregor Phil PE mcgregorp@mountainview.school.nz
Mann Ian HOD Technology manni@mountainview.school.nz
Marsh Alice History/Classics marsha@mountainview.school.nz
Marsh Peter Science marshp@mountainview.school.nz
Martin Don Hard Materials martind@mountainview.school.nz
Mecchia Rae HOD Learning Support mecchiar@mountainview.school.nz
Milburn Rowan Assistant Principal milburnr@mountainview.school.nz
Murphy Alvina HOD Transition murphya@mountainview.school.nz
Oakden Natasha PE oakdenn@mountainview.school.nz
Pagan Kate Science pagank@mountainview.school.nz

Pettigrew Lyndall English pettigrewl@mountainview.school.nz
Peters Eric PHO/DVC peterse@mountainview.school.nz
Peters Liz Deputy Principal petersl@mountainview.school.nz
Phillips Chris HOD PE/Health phillipsc@mountainview.school.nz
Presley Mark Digital Technology presleym@mountainview.school.nz
Price Roger Maths pricer@mountainview.school.nz
Redgrave Mark HOD Science redgravem@mountainview.school.nz
Rosewall Johanna ESOL rosewallj@mountainview.school.nz
Rush Rebecca HOD Drama rushr@mountainview.school.nz
Shears Heather Transition shearsh@mountainview.school.nz
Taynee Anjee English tayneea@mountainview.school.nz
Telfer Bill HOD Economics telferb@mountainview.school.nz
Wilson John International Students Director wilsonj@mountainview.school.nz
Winter Miles Health/Timetables winterm@mountainview.school.nz
Wooffindin Kirsty English wooffindink@mountainview.school.nz
Wulff Paul HOD History/Classics wulffp@mountainview.school.nz

Vacancies