School Vision

‘An inclschool values of Respect, being Responsible, Ready to Learn and Resilient is common place here at Mountainview.

Here you can create the content that will be used within the module.

Mission Statement
To educate and inspire every student to strive for individual excellence by providing diverse opportunities within a well resourced, challenging, supportive and caring environment.
School Vision
  • Our  central  belief  is  that every  child  has  the  capacity to succeed and progress.
  • Our  students  are  challenged to  take  responsibility  for their  own  actions,  learning and  behaviour.   We  accept that  each  child  will  have their  own  unique  range  of talents.
  • The school is well resourced, well  disciplined,  and  has excellent  teachers  who provide  every  student  with the  skills  they  need  to  reach their potential.
  • Any  kind  of  bullying  or negative  behaviours  which limit  the  academic  or emotional  growth  of  any member  of  our  school community  will  not  be accepted.
  • Strong  support  is  provided between  staff,  students,  ostyle=”font-weight: 400;”>Any  kind  of  bullying  or negative  behaviours  which limit  the  academic  or emotional  growth  of  any member  of  our  school community  will  not  be accepted.
  • Strong  support  is  provided between  staff,  students,  our leaders and our parents.
  • Our  curriculum  and  teaching strategies  are  in  accordance with the Treaty of Waitangi.
  • We  value  all  students,  all staff,  and  the  endeavour  to be the best at everything we do.
  • We  encourage  initiative  and innovative  ideas  at  all  levels of the school.
  • Students  support  each  other through  our  strong  whanau system  and  learn  leadership through being given genuine opportunities to lead.
  • Our school is a valuable part of  the  international community,  working  to strengthen relationships with schools  around  the  world  to enhance  our understanding of other cultures
Values
RESPONSIBLE – READY TO LEARN – RESPECTFUL – RESILIENT

  • We all have the right to learn and teach.
  • We take responsibility for our actions.
  • We care for each other and our environment.
  • We work hard.
  • We celebrate success.
Principles
Our school community believes in having high expectations of all our students irrespective of ability or background.
Māori dimensions and Cultural Diversity
Mountainview continues to develop procedures and practices that recognise New Zealand’s cultural diversity. Paramount to this is the unique position of Maori and Maori culture. In recognising the unique position of Maori learning opportunities for all are made available that embrace both Tikanga and Te Reo Maori. In addition significant work continues to be undertaken to develop the connection the school has with its Maori community.

Mountainview High School is an
innovative, inclusive high school that is
fiercely proud of the work it does.

Principal’s Welcome

I am proud to welcome you to the Mountainview website and trust that you will find the information that you need. After reading, I am sure you will agree with me that everything about Mountainview High School is exciting. We are a progressive high school that pursues personal excellence in all that we do. Whether it is the physical campus or the learning in and beyond our classrooms, you do not have to look hard to find excellence.

Being a relatively new school in our current form has allowed us to embrace innovation and not be hamstrung by tradition. This has created an approach to education that is highly responsive to the needs of our students. We provide a technology-rich, broad curriculum that ensures our students grow and develop into well-rounded and competent individuals. We are proud of the ‘Mounties’ who thrive beyond school.

Mark Jones

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the crown entity charged with the responsibility of overseeing the operations of Mountainview High School. They act as the employer and have responsibility for setting the strategic direction of the school. This can be found by consulting the policies on the policies page and by reading the school charter.

The Board represents all stakeholders with trustees (with the exception of the student trustee) being elected every three years. Board members are always happy for you to make contact and to share concerns or ideas.

Current Board members are:

Board Chairperson
Mr Jay Lovely

Parent Representatives
Mr Andrew Dyne
Mr Ross Christie
Mr Andrew Dixon
Mr Mark Rogers
Mr Richard Stott
Mrs Elizabeth Wilson
Mrs Cath Slee

Principal
Mr Mark Jones

Student Representative
Maddy MacKenzie

Staff Representative
Mr Kenny Diamond

 

Staff Directory


Teaching Staff A - F

 Allan Liana  ESOL, Technology
allanl@mountainview.school.nz

Barge Sarah  Social Studies PB4L       
barges@mountainview.school.nz

 Barge Trevor HOF Social Sciences
barget@mountainview.school.nz

 Bennett Mark (Whanau Leader Moana), Agriculture, Science    
bennettm@mountainview.school.nz

Al Blackie Blackie Al  Visual Art       
blackiea@mountainview.school.nz

Justine Carson Carson-lles Justine  Science       
carsonj@mountainview.school.nz

   Campbell Sheree Spanish, Correspondence
campbells@mountainview.school.nz

Selena  Charteris Selena  (Whanau Leader Hiwi),
Mathematics     

charteriss@mountainview.school.nz

 Crosbie Christine  English       
crosbiec@mountainview.school.nz

Kenny   Diamond Kenny Deputy Principal
(Learning design, reporting & assessment)

diamondk@mountainview.school.nz

  Duncan Brent HOF Arts, PE     
duncanb@mountainview.school.nz

  Fisher Kimberley  Geography/Social Studies
fisherk@mountainview.school.nz

Teaching Staff M - R

 McGregor Phil (Whanau Leader Whenua),
PE, Health

mcgregorp@mountainview.school.nz

Ian Mann web Mann Ian HOF Technology, Design
manni@mountainview.school.nz

don martin web Martin Don Hard Materials
martind@mountainview.school.nz

 Palmer Tasmine HOF English, Languages     
palmert@mountainview.school.nz

Liz Peters Peters Liz Deputy Principal
(Communications & Operations)

liz.peters@mountainview.school.nz

Chris p web Phillips Chris Deputy Principal
(Wellbeing)

phillipsc@mountainview.school.nz

Support Staff

Lesley Ayson Gateway
aysonl@mountainview.school.nz
Heidi Norton Executive Officer
nortonh@mountainview.school.nz
Fiona Cameron Office Administrator
cameronf@mountainview.school.nz
Brent Coe Site Manager
coeb@mountainview.school.nz
Trevor Cooper IT Assistant
coopert@mountainview.school.nz
Kirsten Hullen Office Administrator
hullenk@mountainview.school.nz
Julie James Librarian
jamesj@mountainview.school.nz
Joanne Knight Assistant Librarian
Sallie Meggitt  Careers Administrator
meggitts@mountainview.school.nz
Vicki O’Brien Arts Co-ordinator
obrienv@mountainview.school.nz
Beryl Parke STAR Administrator
parkeb@mountainview.school.nz
Steve Rainey IT Computer Technician
raineys@mountainview.school.nz
Jackie Ryder Sports Co-ordinator
sports@mountainview.school.nz
Nicki Stephenson Office Manager/Attendance Officer/Enrol
stephensonn@mountainview.school.nz

Teaching Staff G - L

 Gibbs Dylan Maths     
gibbsd@mountainview.school.nz

David-web Graham David Dr Maths Sci PE Health
grahamd@mountainview.school.nz

Katie G web Graham Katie Guidance Counsellor
grahamk@mountainview.school.nz

 Harris Mary Learning Support     
harrism@mountainview.school.nz

 Haua Ani Maori
hauaa@mountainview.school.nz

 Jacob Tess HOD Food Technology     
jacobt@mountainview.school.nz

 Johns Tash HOL Physical Education, Health & Outdoor Education
johnst@mountainview.school.nz

 Johnson Peter HOF Maths     
johnsonp@mountainview.school.nz

 Johnston Wendy Classical Studies/History
johnstonw@mountainview.school.nz

 Jones Mark Principal
jonesm@mountainview.school.nz

 Kuperus Murray Commerce
kuperusm@mountainview.school.nz

Laff Lafferty Margaret Maths, Scholarships
laffertym@mountainview.school.nz

 Lincoln Andrew HOF Science
lincolna@mountainview.school.nz

 Lincoln Caroline Science
lincolnc@mountainview.school.nz

Teaching Staff S - Z

 Shears Heather HOD Careers & Pathways
shearsh@mountainview.school.nz

 Smith Catherine Drama
smithc@mountainview.school.nz

 Stevens Kirsten HOD Learning Support, 
stevensk@mountainview.school.nz

Till Bernadette  English
tillb@mountainview.school.nz

 Wilson John International Students Director
wilsonj@mountainview.school.nz

 Winter Miles Timetables, NZQA, Commerce
winterm@mountainview.school.nz

 Wright Carl Digital Technology
wrightc@mountainview.school.nz

Learning Support Staff

Cosgrove Sue
Keys John
Hand Dalene
Hessell Raewyn
Small Angela
Soesdorp Gary
Wainwright Julie

History of Mountainview High School

Mountainview High School has a rich history as a school that provides quality education for the young people of South Canterbury.

Timaru Technical School was founded in 1901 as a co-educational evening school for those who normally worked during the day. This was at a time when only a very small proportion of teenagers attended secondary day schools. It began with classes in Latin, French, English, Arithmetic, Mathematics, Shorthand, Printing, Cookery and Dressmaking operating in a building loaned from Main School. There were 212 enrolments with Mr J. A. Valentine BA was the superintendent.

In 1909 the Minister of Education, G. Fowlds opened purpose-built new buildings on Arthur Street for the expanding Timaru Technical School. By then, evening classes in ambulance work, Art, Bookkeeping, drainage, elocution, electricity, German, building construction, home nursing, carving, Photography, plumbing, typing, wool classing, and Woodwork were also operating, with a total of 417 students. In 1913 sheep shearing classes began.

The school became Timaru Technical College in 1918. Mr W. Fossey was director of the college when day classes began. By the mid 1920’s more than 80 classes were underway. Winter games were held in competition with Geraldine High School and Ashburton Technical School. A fire in 1925 destroyed the school’s woodwork shop. In 1927 the Minister of Education, R. A. Wright, opened a two-storeyed engineering and blacksmiths workshop and drawing office, facing Arthur Street.

The College became Timaru Technical High School in 1934. New rooms for Art and Dressmaking were built in 1935, and an assembly hall was added in 1949. In 1945 the school band and orchestra was established, under Mr H. C. Dephoff and Mr Inglis Todd.

During the 1950’s the school gained considerable success in school and local sports competitions in Rugby, Basketball, soccer, tennis, athletics, boxing and swimming. A new Engineering block was opened in 1954 for day training of apprentices and the Centennial Wing, a two storey classroom block was added in 1959.

In the mid 1960’s the school had over 600 students working towards School Certificate and University Entrance, All Black, Alan Stewart (26 games as lock), was a member of the teaching staff.

Under the 1964 Education Act, technical high schools were officially to become secondary schools, hence the school was renamed Timaru College in 1967. Apprentice training was still held in the evening using the school’s facilities, but was now regarded as post-secondary education. The range of sports played widened to include hockey, cricket, cross-country, table tennis, gymnastics and volleyball.

1984 saw the opening by the Prime Minister, Robert Muldoon, of the new Mountainview High School at Pages Road, as a site for Timaru College’s secondary section. The post-secondary technical section of the college remained at Arthur Street and became Aoraki Polytechnic in 1987. Mountainview High School was built on a whanau or extended family system with expansive common areas for students and a four hectare agriculture-horticulture block. The three whanau were named Hiwi, Moana and Whenua after their outlook towards the mountains, land and sea, respectively.

Mountainview High School continues to look to the future – to provide its students with innovative and engaging learning.

Vacancies

 

In addition to the local press, Mountainview High school posts any teaching vacancy in the Education Gazette.

An online version can be found at www.edgazette.govt.nz