School Vision

‘An inclusive Whānau environment, where our community is valued and committed to the personal excellence of all students and staff’

We can’t overplay the word Whānau in the school vision. Mountainview High school is one big family and our students readily develop a sense of belonging. Being a ‘Mountie’ is one of the best compliments our students and staff offer each other. Being part of the family, showing pride in the school and living our school values of Respect, being Responsible and Ready to Learn is common place here at Mountainview.

Mission Statement

To educate and inspire every student to strive for individual excellence by providing diverse opportunities within a well resourced, challenging, supportive and caring environment.

School Vision
  • Our  central  belief  is  that every  child  has  the  capacity to succeed and progress.
  • Our  students  are  challenged to  take  responsibility  for their  own  actions,  learning and  behaviour.   We  accept that  each  child  will  have their  own  unique  range  of talents.
  • The school is well resourced, well  disciplined,  and  has excellent  teachers  who provide  every  student  with the  skills  they  need  to  reach their potential.
  • Any  kind  of  bullying  or negative  behaviours  which limit  the  academic  or emotional  growth  of  any member  of  our  school community  will  not  be accepted.
  • Strong  support  is  provided between  staff,  students,  our leaders and our parents.
  • Our  curriculum  and  teaching strategies  are  in  accordance with the Treaty of Waitangi.
  • We  value  all  students,  all staff,  and  the  endeavour  to be the best at everything we do.
  • We  encourage  initiative  and innovative  ideas  at  all  levels of the school.
  • Students  support  each  other through  our  strong  whanau system  and  learn  leadership through being given genuine opportunities to lead.
  • Our school is a valuable part of  the  international community,  working  to strengthen relationships with schools  around  the  world  to enhance  our understanding of other cultures
Values

RESPONSIBLE – READY TO LEARN – RESPECTFUL – RESILIENT

  • We all have the right to learn and teach.
  • We take responsibility for our actions.
  • We care for each other and our environment.
  • We work hard.
  • We celebrate success.
Principles

Our school community believes in having high expectations of all our students irrespective of ability or background.

Māori dimensions and Cultural Diversity

Mountainview continues to develop procedures and practices that recognise New Zealand’s cultural diversity. Paramount to this is the unique position of Maori and Maori culture. In recognising the unique position of Maori learning opportunities for all are made available that embrace both Tikanga and Te Reo Maori. In addition significant work continues to be undertaken to develop the connection the school has with its Maori community.


Mountainview High School is an
innovative, inclusive high school that is
fiercely proud of the work it does.

Principal’s Welcome

I am proud to welcome you to the Mountainview website and trust that you will find the information that you need. After reading, I am sure you will agree with me that everything about Mountainview High School is exciting. We are a progressive high school that pursues personal excellence in all that we do. Whether it is the physical campus or the learning in and beyond our classrooms, you do not have to look hard to find excellence.

Being a relatively new school in our current form has allowed us to embrace innovation and not be hamstrung by tradition. This has created an approach to education that is highly responsive to the needs of our students. We provide a technology-rich, broad curriculum that ensures our students grow and develop into well-rounded and competent individuals. We are proud of the ‘Mounties’ who thrive beyond school.

Mark Jones

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the crown entity charged with the responsibility of overseeing the operations of Mountainview High School. They act as the employer and have responsibility for setting the strategic direction of the school. This can be found by consulting the policies on the policies page and by reading the school charter.

The Board represents all stakeholders with trustees (with the exception of the student trustee) being elected every three years. Board members are always happy for you to make contact and to share concerns or ideas.

Current Board members are:

Mr Andrew Dyne,
Board Chairperson

Mr Ross Christie,
Parent Representative

Mr Andrew Dixon,
Parent Representative

Mr Mark Rogers,
Parent Representative

Mr Richard Stott,
Parent Representative

Mrs Cath Slee,
Parent Representative

Mr Mark Jones,
Principal

2017 Hanna Harvey,
Student Representative

Mr Kenny Diamond,
Staff Representative

Staff Directory


Teaching Staff A - F

  Barge Sarah  Geography       
barges@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Barge Trevor HOD Geography     
barget@mountainview.school.nz

 Bennett Mark Agriculture/Science    
bennettm@mountainview.school.nz

 

 Blackie Al HOD Visual Art       
blackiea@mountainview.school.nz

 

 Buckley Dave Chemistry      
buckleyd@mountainview.school.nz

 

   Campbell Sheree Spanish
campbells@mountainview.school.nz

 

 Charteris Selena  Mathematics     
charteriss@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Daymond Inia  Head of Junior School
daymondi@mountainview.school.nz

 

   Diamond Kenny HOD Languages
diamondk@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Duncan Brent HOD Arts     
duncanb@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Fisher Kimberley  Geography/Social Studies
fisherk@mountainview.school.nz

Teaching Staff M - R

  McGregor Phil PE
mcgregorp@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Mann Ian HOD Technology
manni@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Marsh Peter Science
marshp@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Martin Don Hard Materials
martind@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Oakden Natasha PE
oakdenn@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Peters Liz Deputy Principal
liz.peters@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Phillips Chris HOD PE/Health
phillipsc@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Rosewall Johanna ESOL
rosewallj@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Rush Rebecca HOD Drama
rushr@mountainview.school.nz

Support Staff

Lesley Ayson  Gateway
aysonl@mountainview.school.nz

Fiona CameronOffice Administrator
cameronf@mountainview.school.nz

Coe Brent  Site Manager
coeb@mountainview.school.nz

Trevor Cooper Technician
coopert@mountainview.school.nz

Kirsten Hullen   Office Administrator
hullenk@mountainview.school.nz

Julie James Librarian
jamesj@mountainview.school.nz

Bruce Mattingly Groundsman
mattinglyb@mountainview.school.nz

Jayne McNaught Science Technician
labtech@mountainview.school.nz

Jackie Ryder Sports Co-ordinator
sports@mountainview.school.nz

Vicki O’Brien Arts Co-ordinator
obrienv@mountainview.school.nz

Debbie Boivin Executive Officer
boivind@mountainview.school.nz

Steve Rainey Comp Technician
raineys@mountainview.school.nz

Nicki Stephenson   Attendance Officer/ Office Manager
stephensonn@mountainview.school.nz

Lynn Henderson Careers and Pathways Education
hendersonl@mountainview.school.nz

Beryl Parke STAR Administrator
parkeb@mountainview.school.nz

Teaching Staff G - L

  Gibbs Dylan Maths     
gibbsd@mountainview.school.nz

 

   Harris Mary Learning Support     
harrism@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Haua Ani Maori
hauaa@mountainview.school.nz

 

   Jacob Tess HOD Food Tech     
jacobt@mountainview.school.nz

 

 Johnson Peter HOD Maths     
johnsonp@mountainview.school.nz

 

   Johnston Wendy Classical Studies/History
johnstonw@mountainview.school.nz

 

 Jones Mark Principal
jonesm@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Kuperus Murray Business studies
kuperusm@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Lafferty Margaret Maths
laffertym@mountainview.school.nz

Teaching Staff S - Z

 

  Shears Heather Transition
shearsh@mountainview.school.nz

 

    Till Bernadette  English
tillb@mountainview.school.nz

 

  Wilson John International Students Director
wilsonj@mountainview.school.nz

 

   Winter Miles Health/Timetables
winterm@mountainview.school.nz

 

    Wright Carl IT
wrightc@mountainview.school.nz

Learning Support Staff

Bishop Stephanie

Cosgrove Sue

Keys John

Hall Sally

Hand Dalene

Hessell Raewyn

Meggitt Sallie

Small Angela

Soesdorp Gary

Wainwright Julie

History of Mountainview High School

Mountainview High School has a rich history as a school that provides quality education for the young people of South Canterbury.

Timaru Technical School was founded in 1901 as a co-educational evening school for those who normally worked during the day. This was at a time when only a very small proportion of teenagers attended secondary day schools. It began with classes in Latin, French, English, Arithmetic, Mathematics, Shorthand, Printing, Cookery and Dressmaking operating in a building loaned from Main School. There were 212 enrolments with Mr J. A. Valentine BA was the superintendent.

In 1909 the Minister of Education, G. Fowlds opened purpose-built new buildings on Arthur Street for the expanding Timaru Technical School. By then, evening classes in ambulance work, Art, Bookkeeping, drainage, elocution, electricity, German, building construction, home nursing, carving, Photography, plumbing, typing, wool classing, and Woodwork were also operating, with a total of 417 students. In 1913 sheep shearing classes began.

The school became Timaru Technical College in 1918. Mr W. Fossey was director of the college when day classes began. By the mid 1920’s more than 80 classes were underway. Winter games were held in competition with Geraldine High School and Ashburton Technical School. A fire in 1925 destroyed the school’s woodwork shop. In 1927 the Minister of Education, R. A. Wright, opened a two-storeyed engineering and blacksmiths workshop and drawing office, facing Arthur Street.

The College became Timaru Technical High School in 1934. New rooms for Art and Dressmaking were built in 1935, and an assembly hall was added in 1949. In 1945 the school band and orchestra was established, under Mr H. C. Dephoff and Mr Inglis Todd.

During the 1950’s the school gained considerable success in school and local sports competitions in Rugby, Basketball, soccer, tennis, athletics, boxing and swimming. A new Engineering block was opened in 1954 for day training of apprentices and the Centennial Wing, a two storey classroom block was added in 1959.

In the mid 1960’s the school had over 600 students working towards School Certificate and University Entrance, All Black, Alan Stewart (26 games as lock), was a member of the teaching staff.

Under the 1964 Education Act, technical high schools were officially to become secondary schools, hence the school was renamed Timaru College in 1967. Apprentice training was still held in the evening using the school’s facilities, but was now regarded as post-secondary education. The range of sports played widened to include hockey, cricket, cross-country, table tennis, gymnastics and volleyball.

1984 saw the opening by the Prime Minister, Robert Muldoon, of the new Mountainview High School at Pages Road, as a site for Timaru College’s secondary section. The post-secondary technical section of the college remained at Arthur Street and became Aoraki Polytechnic in 1987. Mountainview High School was built on a whanau or extended family system with expansive common areas for students and a four hectare agriculture-horticulture block. The three whanau were named Hiwi, Moana and Whenua after their outlook towards the mountains, land and sea, respectively.

Mountainview High School continues to look to the future – to provide its students with innovative and engaging learning.

Vacancies

 

In addition to the local press, Mountainview High school posts any teaching vacancy in the Education Gazette.

An online version can be found at www.edgazette.govt.nz